Netflix as the big winner of the awards ceremony

The Crown ist der große Gewinner bei den Golden Globes 2021

Unfortunately, the German nominees went empty-handed, but the 78th presentation of the Golden Globe Awards was memorable. As usual, the award ceremony did not take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles. Instead, hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler were connected at the same time to New York and Los Angeles, from where they guided the audience through the evening.

Netflix Golden Globes as Big Winners of 2021

In a historically bad year for theaters, Netflix was the big prize winner. The streaming provider’s own productions were nominated 42 times, and at the end of the evening it was able to book ten awards.

As expected, Netflix was hugely successful, especially in the series. “The Crown” won the award for Best Drama Series. Josh O’Connor and Emma Corrin, who were seen as Prince Charles and Princess Diana in the series, were named Best Actors, while Gillian Anderson won the Best Supporting Actress Award. “The Ladies Gambit” won the award for Best Mini-Series and thus won against the German production “Unconventional”.

Deceased Chadwick Boseman Honored

On the other hand, in the film sector, the streaming giant was less successful. Rosamunde Pike was recognized as the best leading actress in a comedy for the Netflix film “I Care a Lot”, but the competition was ahead in other categories. The play “Noamland” was rated Best Drama, the sequel to “Borat” won the award for Best Comedy.

See also  Kate and William, a secret cottage ... which is no longer there! : slideshow

The award for Best Leading Actor in a Drama was awarded to the late Chadwick Boseman in “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” and Andra Day for his portrayal of Billy Holiday in “The United States vs. Billy Holiday”. In addition to Pikes, Sacha Baron Cohen was awarded for “Borat”. German Helena Zengel lost to Jodie Foster in the Best Supporting Actress category. Daniel Kaluuya won the Best Supporting Actor Award in “Judas and the Black Messiah”.

The Golden Globe award was also historic, as it was only the second time a woman had been awarded for Best Director: Chloe Zhao had received the award for her achievements in “Nomadland”. Prior to Zhao, Barbara Streisand received the 1983 award for the film “Yantle”.

Overview of all winners Here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here