Augusta National Female Amateur: Currently no French women have been selected – Augusta National Female Amateur

augusta national women's amateur

Invitations have been sent out for the Augusta National Women’s Amateur 2022, to be held in Augusta from March 30 to April 2, and so far 71 players have received the valuable cards.

Unlike last year when three French women competed in this prestigious amateur tournament, the third round of which takes place on the Augusta Masters course, there is currently no tricolor among the guests.

39 of the top 40 amateur players, including world No. 1 Rose Zhang, and second-placed Emilia Migliaccio in the 2021 edition have confirmed their presence.

Last year, of our three representatives Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, Lucie Malchirand and Candice Mahé, only the first two qualified for the final round after 36 holes. Pauline Roussin-Bouchard finished third in a shot from the play-off won by Japanese Tsubasa Kajitani, while Lucie Malchirand took 19th.

Following the pro stints of Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, Lucie Malcrirand, and Charlotte Léotier, French golf’s best representative at the amateur level is Saint-Cloud player Adela Cernosek, currently ranked 95th in the women’s world amateur rankings.

Various categories to qualify

1. Current US Women’s Amateur Champion: jensen castle, West Columbia, South Carolina

2. Current British Open Amateur Champion: Lewis DuncanWest Kilbride, Scotland

3. Current Women’s Asia-Pacific Amateur Champion: mizuki hashimoto, hyogo, japan

4. Current British Girls Champion: Hannah Darling, midlothian, echoes

5. Current US Girls Junior Champion: Rose Zhang, Irvine, California

6. Current PGA Girls Junior Champion: Anna Davis, Spring Valley, California

See also  CHAN 2020 - Lydie Abebe Tafesse: Iron Lady

7. Winner of Augusta National Women’s Amateur in the last 5 years

8. The 30 highest ranked US players in the World Amateur Rankings at the end of 2021 and not otherwise qualified (see below)

9. 30 players from all nationalities are ranked best in the world amateur rankings at the end of 2021 and do not otherwise qualify (see below)

10. Players to receive Special Invitation from Augusta National Women’s Amateur Committee (see below)

11. Players invited by Augusta National Women’s Amateur and not otherwise eligible

Here is the list of players in Category 8, 9 and 10 who have received invitations:

Amari Avery, Riverside, California (10)
Jenny Bay, Suwanee, Georgia (USA) (8)
Shinsil Bang, Anseong, South Korea (9)
Carla Bernat Escudar, Castellón, Spain (9)
Hailey Borja, Lake Forest, California (8)
Phoebe Brinker, Wilmington, Delaware (8)
Briana Chacon, Whittier, California (8)
Anna Davis, Spring Valley, CA (6)
Isabella Fierro, Merida, Mexico (9)
Alexandra Forsterling, Berlin, Germany (9)
Annabel Fuller, London, Angleterre (9)
Megha Sugarcane, Holmdale, NSW Jersey (8)
Savannah Grewal, Ontario, Canada (10)
Rachel Heck, Memphis, Tennessee (8)
Yumin Hwang, Gyeonggi Province, South Korea (9)
Julia Johnson, St. Gabriel, Louisiane (8)
Gurleen Kaur, Houston, Texas (8)
Austin Kim, St. Augustine, Fluoride (8)
Irene Kim, La Palma, CA (8)
Sara Kuskova, Prague, Czech Republic (9)
Aline Krauter, Stuttgart, Germany (9)
Rachel Kuhen, Asheville, NC (8)
Jeong Hyun Lee, Seoul, South Korea (9)
Amalie Leith-Nissen, Herlev, Denmark (9)
Beth Lilly, Fullerton, California (8)
Jiu Lim, Hwaseong, South Korea (9)
Ingrid Lindblad, Halmstedt, Sweden (9)
Carolina López-Chacara, Madrid, Spain (9)
Antonia Malte, Beach, California (8)
Callie McGinty, Bristol, Angleterre (9)
Carolina Melgretti, Milan, Italy (9)
Ashley Mayne, Surprise, Arizona (8)
Emilia Migliacio, Carey, Caroline Du Nord (8)
Benedetta Moresco, Vicenza, Italy (9)
Anna Morgan, Spartanburg, Caroline Du Sud (8)
Hinano Muguruma, Yokohama, Japan (9)
Katherine Muzzi, Newport Beach, California (8)
Michael O’Berry, Hoover, Alabama (8)
Natasha Andrea Onn, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (9)
Meja Ortengren, Linköping, Suede (9)
Alexa Pano, Lake Worth, Florida (8)
Valery Plata, Bucaramanga, Colombia (9)
Amanda Sambach, Davidson, Caroline Du Nord (8)
Brooke C, San Diego, California (8)
Aneka Semunutafa, Emmitsburg, Maryland (8)
Megan Scofil, Monticello, Fluoride (8)
Paula Schulz-Hansen, St Leon-Rot, Germany (9)
Erica Shepherd, Greenwood, Indiana (8)
Ivy Shepherd, Peachtree City, Georgie (USA) (8)
Ellie Slama, Salem, Oregon (8)
Emma Spitz, Vienna, Austria (9)
Latanna Stone, Riverview, Florida (8)
Caroline Sturdza, Geneva, Switzerland (9)
Shannon Tan, Singapore (10)
Ayaka Tezuka, Yamanashi, Japan (9)
Beatrice Wallin, Olofstrop, Sweden (9)
Lauren Walsh, Kildare, Ireland (9)
Crystal Wang, Diamond Bar, California (8)
Yana Wilson, Henderson, Nevada (8)
Lei Ye, Shanghai, China (9)
Xiaowen Yin, Tianjin, China (9)
Rin Yoshida, Chiba, Japan (9)
Liqui Zeng, Jiangxi, China (9)
Avery Zweig, McKinney, Texas (8)

See also  Former English players warn of the dangers of head games


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here