Hockey Canada unveils women’s team roster for Beijing

Hockey Canada unveils women's team roster for Beijing

Mary-Philippe Paulin and Rebecca Johnson are the headliners of the Canadian women’s hockey team that will compete in the Beijing Olympics, and whose creations were unveiled by virtual mode on Tuesday.

Pollin and Johnson will represent the country for the fourth time in their Olympic careers, after winning gold medals in 2010 and 2014 and silver in 2018.

“It’s really hard to describe the emotion I felt at an opening ceremony,” Polin said. You realize that you are there. It is always an honor to play for Canada. ,

The 23-player squad includes three goalkeepers, seven defenders and 13 forwards.

Thirteen of those players were in the squad that lost 3–2 in a shootout to the United States in the gold medal final of the 2018 Games in South Korea.

The Canadians open the tournament on 3 February – the day before the opening ceremony – with a preliminary game against Switzerland. The grand finale will be presented on February 16.

“We are confident of the work already done, but we also look forward to continuing the work we have done in Beijing to be successful,” said Spreefield, NS head coach Troy Ryan.

Twenty-nine athletes gathered in a centralized environment in Calgary in July to begin preparations for the Olympics. Defender Meghan Mickelson and forwards Victoria Bach and Kristin O’Neill were the last to make the cut.

The roster’s director of hockey operations, Gina Kingsbury, said Canadian women’s hockey players are taking every precaution to avoid the coronavirus and be able to fly to Beijing on January 26.

See also  Scotland believes in it! / Euro2021 / dam / serbia-scotland / November 12, 2020 /

“As of now, we’re basically in a bubble,” Kingsbury said. We will do everything collectively to stay safe and create the right environment. Not only to stay healthy, but also to prepare and be our best. ,

Defender Jamie Bourbonis and forwards Jesse Aldridge and Julia Gosling were released on 3 December.

Mickelson, who has competed in three Olympics and, at 37, was the oldest of the centralized players, did not appear in any sport until mid-December.

A serious knee injury during a Professional Women’s Hockey Players Association (AJHPF) game in May required surgery and a long period of rehabilitation.

Defenders Erin Ambrose and Micah Zandi-Hart, who were released from the 2018 squad, have been named to the 2022 roster.

Kristin Campbell, Ann-Renee DesBiens and Emerence Mashmeyer will be the goal scorers.

The defensive brigade will regroup Ambrose, Zandi-Hart, Ashton Bell, Renata Fast, Jocelyn Larroc, Ella Shelton and Claire Thompson.

Emily Clark, Melody Doust, Sarah Fillier, Brian Jenner, Emma Maltice, Sarah Nurse, Jamie Lee Rattray, Jillian Saulnier, Natalie Spooner, Laura Stacey and Blair Turnbull, along with Polin and Johnson, will form the attacking squad.

Canada defeated the United States 3–2 in overtime on 31 August to clinch their first World Championship title since 2012. The tournament was rescheduled and moved to Calgary after the tournament was canceled by Nova Scotia. , which was to take place in April.

The Canada women’s team has played a total of 27 games at the World Championships since July, and the United States and Finland women’s teams, against men’s Junior A and Under-17 players, and against the AJHPF.

See also  Europa League: Celtic Glasgow, Coach Ange Postekoglu and "Tantalizing" - They're Still Weird - Europa League - Football

The nine-game streak against the United States has been reduced to six, however, due to COVID-19 cases with the Canadian team, which also delayed the appearance of the Olympic squad. for 22 December.

watch video


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here