IIHF: Calgary to host 2021 World Women’s Hockey Championship

IIHF: Calgary to host 2021 World Women's Hockey Championship

Calgary – The World Women’s Hockey Championship will finally be held in Calgary in August, Hockey Canada announced in a press release on Wednesday.

31 matches of the prestigious tournament will take place at the WinSport Arena from August 20 to 31. Canada will host world women’s hockey for the eighth time in history.

The arrival of 10 teams in Calgary is scheduled for August 10. They will immediately observe a quarantine before the tournament starts on August 20, before attending training sessions and possibly pre-tournament games.

The full schedule will be announced later.

The International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) announced the postponement of the event on 30 April.

The Women’s World Hockey Championship was scheduled to take place in Halifax and Truro on May 6-16, but the tournament was canceled in April by the Nova Scotia government due to restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic. The competition was canceled in 2020 due to the pandemic.

Canada was to start the Women’s World Cup against Finland on 6 May. Russia, Switzerland and the United States were also in the host country group.

The Americans beat the Finns for gold in 2019. Canada failed to reach the final for the first time in tournament history and settled for the bronze medal.

See also  Rabies in heart and wrist


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here