Women’s T20 at the Commonwealth Games 2022

Women's T20 at the Commonwealth Games 2022

The teams of England and the other six top teams in the ICC Women’s T20I rankings will automatically qualify for the 2022 Commonwealth Games. April 1, 2021 is the cut-date for the rankings.

The final team participating in the eight-team event will be decided by the qualifiers, for which the constitution and details have not yet been decided. The deadline for qualifiers is January 31, 2022.

If the West Indies finish in an automatic qualifier, the participating Caribbean nation will be the winner of the local competition for the 2021 T20 Blaze.

“Cricket at the Commonwealth Games is an excellent opportunity for us to grow the women’s game globally,” ICC chief executive Manu Savani said in announcing the qualifying route on Wednesday. “We are committed to accelerating this growth and maintaining the momentum we have built up over the last few years, which has recently seen 86,1174 fans in the MCG for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 final.

“I thank them for their support of the Commonwealth Games Federation and for making this possible. We have shared with them a vision of greater equality, ness and opportunity in the sport and I am confident that Birmingham 2022 will go a long way towards achieving our common goals. “

The Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from 28 July to 8 August 2022 will include women’s cricket for the first time, and only the second time since the men’s 50-over event at the 1998 CWG in Kuala. Lampur. South Africa, led by Shannon Pollock, took home the gold by beating Steve Waugh’s Australia in the final.

See also  Ireland and France fail, England celebrates

“We are delighted to be making our women’s T20 cricket debut at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games,” said Dame Lewis Martin, president of the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF). “Cricket has always been one of the most popular sports in the Commonwealth and Kuala Lumpur is so special that it is back in our games for the first time since the men’s competition in 1998, where the true great players of the game, including Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis and Sachin Tendulkar were on the show.

“Now it’s the women’s turn and I can’t wait to see the next generation of stars like Heather Knight, Harmanpreet Kaur and Mag Lanning.

“Birmingham 2022 will be a spectacular display for the women’s sport and the unveiling of the eligibility criteria is an exciting and important goal today as we move towards what a spectacular competition will be at the iconic Edgbaston Stadium.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here