In November 2020, Google announced some changes related to Google Photos, Gmail and Google Drive (including Google Jamboard, Sites, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, and Forms). These are updates that will begin to take effect from June 1 and affect inactive accounts or exceed available space for two years or longer, i.e. the results of this change will begin to be visible from 2023 onwards.
Each Google account includes a 15GB free storage quota, which is shared between content in Gmail, Google Drive and Google Photos. Once the available space is consumed, if you want to continue using the cloud service, you can purchase a subscription of Google oneThe cloud storage service that the company launched in 2018.
What if I run out of space? You will no longer be able to upload files or images to Google Drive; Along with making backup copies of photos or videos in original quality in Google Photos. At this point it should be noted that as of June 1, all multimedia content that is saved in “high quality” (which is lower resolution than the original) will not occupy space. Now: Photos and videos saved in any type of quality (high or original) after that date will receive the storage quota, as detailed Here.
It is possible that if you run out of space you will not be able to send or receive email via Gmail, although you will be able to continue to access your Google account. But to continue with all the storage options it provides, you have to free up space, delete emails, multimedia content, files, etc. that you no longer need or to gain additional space. Google one.
What if I don’t fix the lack of space or my account has been inactive for a long time? If you have exceeded the space quota 2 years or more ago and are not free to return under the limit or are not buying more space, it is possible that Google has all of the things you have in Gmail, Drive, and Photos Will remove content.. The same can happen if you have a dormant account for 2 years or more, ie if you do not use it. The easiest way to keep your data active is to periodically visit Gmail, Google Photos, and Google Drive.
But before this happens, you will get an email notification and other product information from Google. The company states in its terms and conditions that the user will be contacted for at least three months before meeting the requirements to remove the content.
In addition, the user will be allowed to prevent their content from either purchasing more storage space or deleting files. There are some strategies for effectively removing content that are no longer relevant and are taking up a lot of space, as explained. This note.
In turn, to avoid losing information, the user has the possibility to download all the content hosted on Google services, which requires following the steps This article
Freelance twitter maven. Infuriatingly humble coffee aficionado. Amateur gamer. Typical beer fan. Avid music scholar. Alcohol nerd.