It is a six nation tournament

It is a six nation tournament

Munich – #ranRugby continues!

After the 2019 World Cup, ProSieben MAXX is now showing the Six Nations tournament live. It is a kind of unofficial European Championship, as the best teams from Europe meet.

Beginning February 1, 2020, ProSieben MAXX and will broadcast live two games from 3:00 pm on Saturday and one game on Sunday from 3:55 pm. The last day of play will be on Saturday, March 14, 2020. It starts at 3:00 PM on ProSieben MAXX.

Which nations are participating?

The six teams participating in the annual tournament are always seeded. Wales start as the record winners and defending champions in the Six Nations, with Scotland and England completing a trio of participants from Great Britain. In addition, the rugby nations France, Italy and Ireland compete to claim the European rugby throne.

When is the game played?

Six Nations takes place over a total of five weekends from February 1 to March 14. All teams play each other once. In the first four match days, two matches will take place on Saturday and one match on Sunday. The last day of play is a real rugby festival, as all teams play the final doubles one after the other from 3 pm.

What are the main rules?

The biggest difference in classic tournaments like last year’s World Cup is the mode. All teams meet once on five game days. There is no group stage and there is no final. The teams’ points from the five match days are collected in a table. Whoever tops the table in the end wins the Six Nations tournament. If the number of points is the same, it is the difference of the total points earned, which equals the goal difference in football. If two teams are tied, the total number of attempts will be evaluated.

See also  Fort McMurray Nova Scotian Fights COVID-19 for His Life | COVID-19 in the Atlantic

The country that wins a match gets four points, the loser gets nothing. However, there are exceptions: if the winners get four or more attempts, they get an extra point, that is, five points. Even the losing team doesn’t have to go completely empty handed. If four or more attempts are made or the difference is seven or fewer points, the team receives an extra point.

A tie earns each team two points. Any country with four or more attempts will receive an additional score. If a team manages to win all five games, it is called a “Grand Slam”. There are three extra points for the team concerned.

Where is the game played?

As part of the face-to-face mode, the respective home teams receive their opponents at a stadium in their country. Accordingly, there are also six different venues for the tournament: Principality Stadium, Cardiff (Wales), Aviva Stadium, Dublin (Ireland), Stade de France, Paris (France), BT Murfield, Edinburgh (Scotland), Olympic Stadium, Rome. (Italy), Twickenham Stadium, London (England).

Do you want the most important sports news, videos and data right on your smartphone? Then get the new Run app with push notifications for the most important news about your favorite sport. Available in App Store for Apple And Android,


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here