Russia takes new ‘retaliatory steps’ against ‘unfriendly’ countries

Russia takes new 'retaliatory steps' against 'unfriendly' countries

“In connection with the unfriendly actions of foreign governments, a draft presidential decree is being prepared to initiate countermeasures regarding visas,” Sergei Lavrov told a meeting of the ruling United Russia party.

The diplomat said the draft envisaged “a whole range of sanctions” for entering Russia, but without specifying which countries and what types of people would be specifically sanctioned.

Faced with Western economic sanctions, Moscow published a list of “unfriendly” countries in early March, including the United States, members of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Canada, Japan, Switzerland, Taiwan, South Korea, Norway and Australia is included.

On Monday, Mr Lavrov did not specify whether the preparatory decree would apply against these countries.

See also  Suspected poisoning of Alexey Navalny was meant to eliminate him, not to scare him off, aide claims


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here